Sunday, February 10, 2008 9:51:59 PM Philippine Time






Engineering, Architecture and Fine Arts (CEAFA)


  It was 1971 when Batangas State University formerly known as Pablo Borbon Memorial Institute of Technology (PBMIT) started offering engineering courses. The Pilot courses were Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Mechanical Engineering. And in 1973, Civil Engineering followed.


  In 1990, the College offered Electronics and Communications Engineering was offered. In that same year, the performance of engineering students in the licensure board examinations was a major feat. The Mechanical Engineering department placed first in the October exams.


  In 1995, the engineering transferred to Gov. Pablo Borbon Main campus II, Golden Country Homes located at Alangilan where the first extension campus of PBMIT was built.

New engineering courses were also offered during that time. These are BS Chemical Engineering and BS Architecture. The College expanded as it also offered BS Industrial Engineering and BS Computer Engineering.


  Furthermore in year 2000, BS Environmental and Sanitary Engineering, BS Instrumentation and Control Engineering and BS Fine Arts majors in Advertising and Interior Design were offered.

Likewise in that same year, the Mechanical Engineering Department was granted Center of Development/Excellence status by the Commission on Higher Education(CHED).


  Moreover in 2002, BS Mechatronics Engineering was offered.


  Over the years, BSU’s engineering courses have established their marks nationally in terms of the outstanding performance of the graduates in licensure board exams. From the time Joey Reyes ranked fifth in the November 1986 CE board exams, the College has now a total of 94 topnotchers. In fact, three graduates placed first in the Registered Mechanical Engineering Board Exams namely Orlando Ruel Arga (Oct. 1990), Gilmar Espiritu (Oct. 1997) and Roderick Ilagan (Oct. 2000) while Engr. Francis Keith Hernandez (Nov. 2003) and Engr. Ryan Anthony Umali (Sept. 2004) notched the first placed ECE and EE Board exams respectively.


  Successive to the 2001, 2002 and 2003 Licensure Examination, the Mechanical Engineering Department was once again named as the number one top performing school in the 60 or more examinees category as 86 out of 89 bets successfully passed the board exams. Likewise, Electronics and Communications Engineering Department was also named No. 1 top performing school with 92 school’s percentage passing in this year’s 2004 board exams.


  At present, the CEAFA has 56 teaching personnel and 3 laboratory technicians. Engr. Rogelio A. Antenor serves as the Dean of the College, who initiated and emphasized the need to develop a university syllabus that links to the attainment of department and university’s mission statement. Along with Engr. Antenor is Engr. Paulina M. Macatangay who acts as the Associate Dean.


  The area chairmen of the different departments are Engr. Reynato A. Gamboa(EE), Engr. Erma B. Quinay (ChE), Engr. Michael A. Aloria (ME/PeTE), Engr. Tirso A. Ronquillo (ECE/ICE/MeXE), Engr. Ivy M. Gascon (IE), Engr. Paulina M. Macatangay (CE/ESE) and Prof Winefreda M. Medina (Arch./FA).


  Designated on the On-The-Job Training (OJT) coordinators are Engr. Edzel M. Gamab (EE), Engr. Sicily B. Tiu (ChE), Engr. Benedicto S. Noriega (ME), Engr. Angelita M. Pagcaliwagan (IE) and Engr. Ramses C. Sanvictores (CE).


Computing Sciences (formerly SICS)


  The School of Informatics and Computing Sciences was conceived in 1990 as a department under the College of Arts and Sciences in the supervision of Dr. Gloria Mendoza. The department initially offered a two-year Associate in Computer Science course with an initial 24 enrollees and 4 instructors. 12 out of these 24 enrollees graduated in 1992 and the same graduates proceeded to take up BS Computer Science. They graduated in 1994.


  Parallel with this development, the College of Engineering under Engr. Jessie Montalbo, offered BS Computer Engineering. The first batch of 30 students graduated in 1995.

  In 1997, a major development happened with the creation of the College of Computer Studies. Engr. Jessie Montalbo acted as the first dean of the newly-found College. CCS was initially comprised of BS Computer Science, taken from the College of Arts and Sciences, and BS Computer Engineering, from the College of Engineering. During the same year, BS Information Management was offered, followed by BS Information Technology in 1998 and BS Computer Education in 1999. The newest addition to the growing list of program offerings of the college is the BS in Library Information Management, which started in the current school year. The number of enrollees grew with the number of faculty members. Alongside this growth in population was the establishment of better and well-equipped laboratories, student services offices, and research and development offices.


  In the year 2000, the IT Center which handles IT applications of the university was established together with the Informatics and Computing Sciences Center which handles research and extension services of the College. Engr. Rolando M. Lontok Jr., who is also the current Associate Dean of the College, currently supervises both centers. Consequently, the College started providing Internet Access for the students and faculty of the college in Summer of 2000.


  To accommodate the growing importance of information and communication technologies in the field of computers, the name College of Computer Studies was changed to the School of Informatics and Computing Sciences in the middle of 2000.